Saturday 7 April 2012

Energiewacht Tour Stage 4a/4b report and results

Kirsten Wild
(image credit: AA
Stage 4a
Strong winds caused havoc and high speeds in equal amounts during the five laps of the Winsum circuit, splitting the pack into seven distinct groups at one point. A group of 17 escaped and was gradually whittled down to 11; but with the likes of Visser (Skil-Argos), Gunnewijk(GreenEDGE), Arndt (GreenEDGE), Kasper (RusVelo), Van Dijk (Specialized-Lululemon), Worrack (Specialized-Lululemon), Wild (AA Drink, Blaak (AA Drink,  Slappendel (Rabobank) and Vos (Rabobank) onboard, their lead just kept on increasing - as they entered the final lap, they had 8'03" on the chasers and didn't show any signs of taking it easy.

Kirsten Wild mounted a solo attack after coming within 2km of the finish line with Trixi Worrack and then Marianne Vos responding - however, neither could catch her and she crossed the line solo. Worrack dropped off and was replaced by Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (Specialized-Lululemon) who once again powered past for second and left Vos, who retains her leadership in the General Classification) to take third.

Stage 4b, taking place this afternoon, is a 26.5km team time trial that is expected to prove pivotal in the eventual outcome of the race.

Top Ten

  1.  Kirsten Wild AA 01:42:25
  2.  Ina Yoko Teutenberg Specialized-Lululemon 00:07
  3.  Marianne Vos Rabobank ST
  4.  Judith Arndt GreenEDGE ST
  5.  Ellen Van Dijk Specialized-Lululemon ST
  6.  Adrie Visser Skil-Argos ST
  7.  Romy Kasper RusVelo ST
  8.  Loes Gunnewijk GreenEDGE ST
  9.  Chantal Blaak AA ST
  10.  Trixi Worrack Specialized-Lululemon ST

(Full results)

Interesting stuff: Official race report / Rabobank report

Ina-Yoko Teutenberg
(now with Lululemon)

Stage 4b
Specialized-Lululemon win the Team Time Trial, GreenEDGE second and Rabobank third, Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (Specialized-Lululemon) takes General Classification leadership from Marianne Vos (Rabobank).

Follow the official race Twitter @ewachttour for details during each stage and information on the race. Local TV RTL7 is broadcasting a short highlights show daily, with the Stage 4a edition being at 14:30 BST (+1 hour for local time/CEST). Stage 4b and 5 will be shown on Sunday, also at 14:30.

Stage 1 / 2 / 3 / 4a-4b / 5 / Guide / Video Vault

No comments:

Post a Comment