Saturday 25 February 2012

Gunnewijk wins Women's Omloop Het Nieuwsblad

Loes Gunnewijk
(image credit: CC BY 2.0
A breakaway powered by three GreenEDGE riders at the halfway point Côte de Trieu drained a large postion of the peloton's energy, leaving nobody able to keep up when Loes Gunnewijk attacked on the famous cobbles of Paddestraat as the race entered its final part. The 31-year-old Dutch rider was then left alone for five kilometress until Specialized-Lululemon's Ellen Van Dijk joined her and shared the work. The two women entered the final sprint together with Gunnewijk proving marginally faster to the line.

GreenEDGE continue their fantastic first season, having won every race they've thus far entered. Lululemon, of which third place Trixie Worrack is also a member, are having a great start to what is their first season too; the two teams having also taken seven of the top ten spots at the Tour of Qatar.

The best-placed British rider was Lucy Martin and Katie Colclough in 32nd and 33rd place.

For an excellent report on the race, click here.

1 Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) Greenedge-AIS 3:17:14
2 Eleonora Van Dijk (Ned) Team Specialized-Lululemon
3 Trixi Worrack (Ger) Team Specialized-Lululemon 0:01:10
4 Martine Bras (Ned) Dolmans-Boels Cyclingteam  
5 Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team  
6 Noemi Cantele (Ita) Be Pink  
7 Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Hitec Products-Mistral Home Cycling Team  
8 Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Greenedge-AIS  
9 Amanda Spratt (Aus) Greenedge-AIS  
10 Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) AA Cycling Team  
11 Lise Nöstvold (Nor) Hitec Products-Mistral Home Cycling Team 0:01:19  
12 Chloe Hosking (Aus) Team Specialized-Lululemon 0:01:33  
13 Latoya Brulee (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Ridley 2012  
14 Christine Majerus (Lux) Team Gsd Gestion  
15 Roxane Knetemann (Ned) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team  
16 Ludivine Henrion (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies  
17 Sarah Düster (Ger) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team  
18 Romy Kasper (Ger) Rusvelo  
19 Thalita De Jong (Ned) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team  
20 Sara Mustonen (Swe) Hitec Products-Mistral Home Cycling Team  
21 Maaike Polspoel (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Ridley 2012  
22 Irene Van Den Broek (Ned) Dolmans-Boels Cyclingteam  
23 Madeleine Olsson (Swe) AA Cycling Team  
24 Jessie Daams (Bel) AA Cycling Team  
25 Ann-Sophie Duyck (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies  
26 Iris Slappendel (Ned) Stichting Rabo Women Cycling Team  
27 Alexis Rhodes (Aus) Greenedge-AIS  
28 Chantal Blaak (Ned) AA Cycling Team  
29 Fröydis Waerstad (Nor) Hitec Products-Mistral Home Cycling Team  
30 Carlee Taylor (Aus) Vienne Futuroscope  
31 Regina Bruins (Ned) Skil 1T4I 0:04:46  
32 Lucy Martin (GBr) AA Cycling Team 0:07:17  
33 Katie Colclough (GBr) Team Specialized-Lululemon  
34 Kaat Hannes (Bel) Lotto Belisol Ladies  
35 Jolien d'Hoore (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Ridley 2012  
36 Marlen Jöhrend (Ger) Abus Nutrixxion

No comments:

Post a Comment