Saturday 28 January 2012

Slipstream merges with AA Drink-Leontien nl.

It's been the subject of rumour for a day or two, but the news is now confirmed - the Slipstream Women's Team is to merge with AA Drink, the team that provided a new home for several riders when Garmin-Cervélo manager Jonathan Vaughters announced the loss of a sponsor last year. The team will be run by AA-Drinks and administered by Slipstream with all riders competing on Cervélo bikes.

Garmin was contractually obliged to continue paying the salaries of nine of its ex-riders, meaning that a merger was the obvious and most practical way ahead for all parties. With many teams hitting rough patches in 2011 the merger comes as extremely welcome news in the women's cycling world.

Vaughters said: "We are pleased to partner with AA Drink / Michael Zilaard has built a strong organization and we are excited to work with him to combine our strengths. The 2012 team looks strong and we believe it will be a great year ahead."

Emma Pooley
Press release here.


Elizabeth Armitstead (UK)
Chantal Blaak (NL)
Lucinda Brand (NL)
Jessie Daams (BEL)
Sharon Laws (UK)
Lucy Martin (UK)
Shelley Olds (USA)
Madelene Olsson (SWE)
Emma Pooley (UK)
Carla Ryan (AUS)
Isabelle Söderberg (SWE)
Marijn de Vries (NL)
Marieke van Wanroij (NL)
Kirsten Wild (NL)

No comments:

Post a Comment